RSS

“The Bookstore” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

19 Aug

The sweet smells of musky old books rest patiently, they seek refuge among tall mahogany bookcases, at the far back corner of a second hand bookstore. The slow sound of time propagates smoke jacket margins, through fields of fancy pages.

Organic dominos, standing tall and proud, supporting old friends with fraying shoulders, arching backs with faintly embossed titles, there sapient treasures lay dormant until discovered by ardent bookworms.

Thumbing sagely through pages of prose, with the dexterity of a squirrel, trawling aimlessly for verse through thick dense shelves of old growth forest, preening the pages to determine their species.

Bending knees like the bowerbird reaching for the lower branches of beautifully bound birch. Bouffant shelves overflow, books stacked on the floor like paper pylons so high some fall like pine trees.

Pages falling from shelves behind shoulders like maple leaves in autumn, stirring refulgent clouds of dust, exposed by tilted sunlight through cracks in the lime wash walls on a winter afternoon, nostalgia of the antique aroma speaks history reminiscent of my younger years.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to ““The Bookstore” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. Nicole landgrebe

    August 19, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I Love that bookstore, what a fantastic story you told……

     
  2. Deborah

    August 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Your mind is beautiful !!!!

     
  3. Karin Shubitz

    August 20, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    So much talent has come out of hiding.I am going to send this blog to my son Allen in Sweden he did 4 unit poetry for his hsc and will love your work.

     
    • David landgrebe

      August 21, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Thank you Karin, I would love for him to read it and hear his thoughts.
      And thanks for all your kind words.

       
  4. Deborah

    August 25, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    I love this poem 🙂 and you ! Looking forward to your next poem !!!

     
  5. flowerpoet

    August 6, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    I’ve just enjoyed a reread of your archives and I sincerely hope you’ll continue to share some thoughts with us on WordPress from time to time. Best wishes, Shelley

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      August 6, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      Thanks Shelley, I have had my head in the sand to long now as you have noticed, and it has not helped my creativity, My landscaping business has consumed me a little too much. But no longer as My wife and I have just purchased a pie shop five minutes from home, And I will need to become a pastry chef in our own business, this is a hundred and eighty degrees into the opposite direction to the heavy work I do, so there will be no excuses and with your wonderful encouragement, the pen shall move once more.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
