RSS

“Grey Matter” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

01 Apr

Malleable grey matter,
Poets matter, cerebral putty matters,
softened by the curtain of a blue midnight,
neurons of winter cure.
Translucent tones of hovering light
where horizontal stacks of white pressed pulp emerge,
smooth concave keys archetype your
iconic portraits of love life and death,
born behind clear curved glass
the intermittent drip plummets from the beating clock,
and the distracted monarch suffers writer’s block.
Stretched between four corners of the page
where chiaroscuro play,
and familiar fonts like times new roman lay.
Ruminate your seductive adjectives
into the deep hours of tomorrow,
and concentric cryptic ripples
begird the prostrate eye,
your altruistic quest to carve your heart
in stone, manifests our dreams.
A sculptor of fantasy and fiction
you caress our soul
like a surgeons dream,
bending flesh and steel with paper tools,
your words rent mouths and share the mind that rules.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2012 in Poetry

 

13 responses to ““Grey Matter” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. upinvermont

    April 2, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Hey, that’s really interesting. It’s not the way I would write a poem but who cares. You’ve put some backbone into the imagery.

    I like the intermittent rhyme of clock and block, say and play, rules and tools. Two few poets really take advantage of rhyme. It gives to the poem intermittent nexuses of gravity and attention. Well done. Well handled.

    “bending flesh and steel with paper tools,”

    Nice. This kind of imagery is concrete and the kind I especially like because it plays in opposites. You’ve done everything that two few poets seem to do these days: you’ve managed to combine abstraction with evocative and concrete imgery – and that’s the art of Keats, above all. Keep it up.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 2, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      Thanks Patrick, your comments are deeply informative, and I relish in your compliments. I really enjoyed the process of painting with words in this poem.
      Although I have discovered poetry quite late in life I am certain never to let it go. I can see why you got into poetry so early in life, your knowledge on the subject is rich and your feedback very much appreciated.
      Once again,
      Thank you.

       
  2. Astha-The Frozen Vividity

    April 4, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Gawdd! This was truly loaded with bits and pieces of the puzzle that completes a writer,a poet!
    Everything covered with their own respective fascinating roles…was a complete visionary bliss!!
    Thanks for sharing… 🙂

    *cheers*

    -Astha

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 4, 2012 at 10:15 pm

      Thank you Astha for your wonderful compliment 🙂
      David. L

       
  3. Dennis N. O'Brien

    April 5, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Hello David, thanks for visiting my blog and it is always great to find another Australian poet on wordpress as they seem to be a bit thin on the ground. I very much like this and I read some of your other poems and will gradually work my way through all of them.
    I don’t follow a lot of blogs but I am now following yours.
    All the best, Dennis

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 5, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      Thanks Dennis, yes Australian poets do seem a little light on. I am glad to see you following my blog,
      I have picked up on poetry fairly late in life. But so glad I have. I look forward to following your work to.
      Speek soon,
      David. L

       
  4. Ayasonice

    April 9, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    David, your poetry is superb! I hung on to every word. I totally loved it! Thanks for sharing 😀

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      thank you, I look forward to following your work!
      David. L

       
      • Ayasonice

        April 9, 2012 at 2:22 pm

        I’d be honoured to have you follow my work. However, I’m afraid I’m not quite as adept at poetry as you are haha 🙂 I definitely look forward to reading more from you!

         
      • davidlandgrebe

        April 9, 2012 at 5:25 pm

        Thanks for your compliment Ayasonice, I have read your poetry and love it, Especially Prot’ege’
        by the way it takes me many hours to do a poem, and I have trouble achieving the spontaneity that someone like your self achieves.
        It is a great thing to be corresponding with fellow poets, no matter where they are on the planet, we are all family.
        Look forward to more of your words.

        David. L

         
  5. flowerpoet

    April 10, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Reading these words on a computer screen is a mind treat, Reading them in a book would be perfectly delicious! Many thanks!

     
  6. bneal817

    April 12, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Fantastic! Your poems are richly layered and such decadent descriptive imagery… and they demonstrate a truly masterful vocabulary and very subtle wordplay. Bravo.

    ~ Ben

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 12, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      Thanks Ben, love the term decadent descriptive imagery, appreciate you reading my work.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
