RSS

“Weekend” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

08 Apr

All night cutting teeth in a gully of bruising dreams
has me conscious at the cockcrow of Saturday
marooned in a sea of creased white sheets,
my feet stretch further when I know it’s the weekend.

I can hear the warbling of a distant mower
chew its whining cud with the neighbours buffalo,
I can hear the ringing of spoon in china cup
with freshly squeezed bag of tea and saccharin heading my way.

Through window pane
jacaranda fronds renovate
the bedroom wall with
a silhouette like henna.

The day drifts clockwise, pedaling its course,
past my sleepy eyes,
in outside beds half naked flowers bawl like children
in the pushy breeze, and a racket of boisterous poodles play.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2012 in Poetry

 

17 responses to ““Weekend” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. dfb

    April 8, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I really like this David, a wonderful poem, a perfect window on the weekend. ‘marooned in a sea of creased white sheets,/my feet stretch further when I know it’s the weekend..’ these are fabulous, David, I really ‘see’ this, ‘feel’ it. ‘Half naked flowers bawl like children’, this is great too. So evocative! Very well done.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 8, 2012 at 11:15 pm

      Thank you so much Francis I value your comments!
      David. L

       
  2. Casey B

    April 8, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    Excellent work. I can see from a brief perusal of your pieces that I am going to like what I find here. Thank you very much for following my blog, as well.

    Also, if I’m not too late, happy Easter. (Still Happy Easter if I am, but y’know.) πŸ™‚

    Best wishes,

    Casey

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 8, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      Happy easter and thank you for following!
      All the best,

      David. L

       
  3. Kim V

    April 9, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Love this one David, it really takes me there… I especially like the mower lines & my fav is The day drifts clockwise, pedaling its course, Lβ™₯VE! Thanks πŸ™‚

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Thanks Kim,I am glad you enjoy my poetry, and appreciate all your comments.
      David. L

       
  4. Ayasonice

    April 9, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    You’re an awesome writer! I like this a lot!

     
  5. christyb

    April 10, 2012 at 2:36 am

    My fave line is “my feet stretch further when I know it’s the weekend” πŸ™‚

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 10, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Thanks Christy, as I work as a landscaper on weekdays I so look forward to a lye in πŸ™‚
      David. L

       
  6. Cara Olsen

    April 10, 2012 at 3:59 am

    Hi David,

    Beautiful poem. It’s only a pity that I came to read this on a Monday; you have me longing for a Saturday morning in the best way. πŸ™‚

    Through window pane
    jacaranda fronds renovate
    the bedroom wall with
    a silhouette like henna.”

    This bit here was my favorite for a few reasons: for one, we happen to live on a street rife with Jacaranda trees. Their purple blooms are some of the loveliest I have ever seen, and my husband and I are quite taken with their ability to shield the sun without subverting it. For two, the imagery of shadows and light on the bedroom walls makes me think of that soporific interim — the state between awake and sleep. I prefer this part because you are aware of the comfort, know that depending on whether you are about to rouse or descend into dreams, something good is to come.

    Blessings,
    Cara

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 10, 2012 at 7:09 pm

      Thanks so much Cara for you wonderful comment. I am glad you enjoyed the imagery, as you can tell by the poem, I was writing the from the bed on a saturday morning, sipping on a cup of tea. And these dreamlike shadows from the jacaranda where projected onto our bedroom wall, perhaps I should have taken a pic.
      Many thanks for dropping by.

      David. L

       
  7. ReGi McClain

    April 10, 2012 at 4:28 am

    You’re very talented! That’s a lovely poem, particularly the third stanza. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and following me!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 10, 2012 at 7:10 pm

      Thank you Regi, and thanks for dropping by.
      David. L

       
  8. Deborah

    April 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Thumbs up. Wish it went to the end of the day back in bed though πŸ™‚

     
  9. J.H. White

    February 16, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    It just makes me happy to read the sublime in the mundane. You make time off the clock so sensate.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      February 16, 2013 at 8:49 pm

      I am so glad you are enjoying my poetry, I don’t often get a chance to experience the narcissist inside.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
