RSS

“Proletariat inheritance” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

13 Apr

My body is rusting from a proletariat existence,
and my bones have molded into hand tools,
the knuckles in my fingers are looking much like my father’s,
with a leather hand lineage, each day they lift a ton,
with little sympathy for the back that cranes.

When I get home from work, I foolishly assume my passion for
reading or writing, but simply sleep instead on the couch,
then wake up, only to put my glasses down then stagger off to bed.
My dreams of academia have slowly emulsified through years of perspiration,
for my art, is made of stone.

 
45 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Poetry

 

45 responses to ““Proletariat inheritance” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. Monica Smith

    April 13, 2012 at 10:45 am

    father’s, and ton(or did you mean tone?)…..

    Love the sentiment……

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 13, 2012 at 10:55 am

      Yes both, thanks Monica, we are just heading off to Berrima for the weekend and I get a little impatient with my posts.
      Thanks
      D.L

       
  2. Mari Sanchez Cayuso

    April 13, 2012 at 11:20 am

    David, your foundation of purpose veils such a turbulent glory.
    From your whistling fingerprints to the sodding verbal stones.
    Such a fan of yours ; )

     
  3. flowerpoet

    April 14, 2012 at 1:23 am

    Enjoy your weekend with your loved ones. I can relate to your well chosen words having been a gardener, home remodeler (our own), and floral designer. Excellent wordcraft. Many thanks.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 15, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Thank you Shelly, you are so generous with your comments and I look forward to reading them 🙂 I Had a lovely weekend thank you and I hope you did too,
      gardening, renovating and design are all art forms, and a great compliment to poetry.
      Thank you!
      David. L

       
  4. Ayasonice

    April 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    This made me smile. Thanks for the insight. Lovely writing as always.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 15, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      Thanks so much, I hope you had a great weekend!
      David. L

       
  5. Dennis N. O'Brien

    April 15, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    This is good David and so is the fence. I know the feeling, the hammer and bolster bring back memories, I still have the ones my father (a brickie) left to me. My back is shot from too much abuse – hope you look after yours a little better. 🙂

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 15, 2012 at 11:28 pm

      Many thanks Dennis, yes the fence was hard work, I am just starting to go a little easier these days.
      David. L

       
  6. Deborah

    April 16, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Poor old bugger 🙂 very good !!!

     
  7. Laura

    April 19, 2012 at 12:37 am

    I don’t want this to come out wrong (too personal), for I am not sure why exactly, but your words demand an intimate connection in me. They make me want to hold you close and rub away the weariness. It is a beautifully connecting poem – but I am not sure if that was your intent?

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 19, 2012 at 1:04 am

      Thanks Laura, yes the poem does imply a little sympathy, the physicality of my work contrasts strongly with my passion for poetry.
      Thank you for lovely comment.
      David. L

       
  8. Hannah Gosselin

    April 19, 2012 at 3:05 am

    An art it is, David! Masonry is truly a gift and to experience it through your words was so enjoyable, thank you!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 19, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      A pleasure Hannah, thanks for reading my words.
      David. L

       
      • Hannah Gosselin

        April 20, 2012 at 11:38 am

        You’re very welcome,David!

         
  9. bneal817

    April 19, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    You sculpt words as well as stone, my friend. Blessings,

    ~ Ben

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 19, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks Ben, I appreciate you reading my work.
      David. L

       
  10. Astha-The Frozen Vividity

    April 20, 2012 at 12:04 am

    Hello David!

    I just love your poetry and you are very inspiring, you ought to know that! 🙂

    I have nominated you for The Sunshine Award!! 🙂 Just follow this link below:
    http://asthafrozenviv.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/sunshine-award

    You so deserve this 🙂
    Glad that I am following your work…

    *Love and hugs*

    -Astha

     
  11. cynthia

    April 20, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Wonderful

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 20, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Thank you Cynthia, and thanks for dropping by.
      David. L

       
  12. Angela

    April 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    I love the way you write, David. Your poems are laced with intellect and an extensive colourful vocabulary that bring layers to your lines. It makes them very enjoyable to read on many levels. 🙂

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      Thank you Angela, a wonderful comment, thanks for reading my work.
      David. L

       
  13. Laurie Kolp

    April 20, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    What an artist you are, David… and hard worker. I really enjoyed reading this and especially like the first stanza.

     
  14. creativenoodling

    April 23, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    A rusting body, art made of stone. Beautiful. Creativity just spills out of you doesn’t it.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 24, 2012 at 6:08 pm

      Thanks, and thanks for visiting my work. Looking forward to following your stories.
      David. L

       
  15. composerinthegarden

    April 24, 2012 at 1:05 am

    David, thanks for visiting and for the follow. I am loving your poetry – it seems both ancient and modern at once. My father and I worked in stone when I was growing up on a farm; I went on to build stone paths and a patio in my own garden. Working with stone makes for good reflection time.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 24, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Thanks, yes working stone does give you plenty of reflecting time and blisters 🙂 thanks for looking at my work.
      David. L

       
  16. Step On a Crack

    April 24, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    “with a leather hand lineage, each day they lift a ton,
    with little sympathy for the back that cranes.”

    beautiful; simply beautiful…

    Peace, Jen

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 24, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      Thanks so much Jen, and thanks for taking the time to read my work.
      David. L

       
      • Step On a Crack

        April 25, 2012 at 10:34 am

        My God. It is a pleasure to read your work.

        You are a Wordsmith. THank You for this blog.

        Peace, Jen

         
      • davidlandgrebe

        April 25, 2012 at 10:51 am

        Your welcome thanks for the support. 🙂
        David. L

         
  17. bardessdmdenton

    April 28, 2012 at 10:48 am

    ‘My dreams of academia have slowly emulsified through years of perspiration,
    for my art, is made of stone.’

    I connect with this so much, David…just getting introduced to your poetry, I find it so real and affecting. I know I will enjoy reading more.

     
  18. shrewdbanana

    June 16, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    The poem and the image of you work so well together. I especially love those first three lines, the image of the bones as tools, which emphasises the sense of time/ timelessness there with mention of your father.
    Really well done 🙂

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      June 16, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      Thanks so much for taking time out to read it. 🙂
      David. L

       
  19. sonofwalt

    June 21, 2012 at 7:16 am

    My god, I can relate to this. What oft’ was thought but ne’er so well expressed. Was it Frost who said that? Anyway, you read my mind in this one. I’m impressed.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      June 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Possibly. This poem came straight from the hip after a big day at work, its seems to have a more visceral effect.
      Thanks for dropping by.
      David. L

       
  20. home, garden, life

    August 7, 2012 at 9:25 am

    David, those ragged fingers you describe certainly produce magical words on paper.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      August 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      Thanks so much for praise, Your very kind.
      David. L

       
  21. home, garden, life

    August 7, 2012 at 9:28 am

    AND your stone is your legacy.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      August 7, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Yes it is, and it runs in the family.
      David. L

       
  22. shianwrites

    September 16, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Awesome post. You look so focus in the picture.

     

Leave a Reply

 
