RSS

“Southern Highlands” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

22 Apr

In the southern highlands of New South Wales,
an hour beyond the city’s construct,
there sleeps a heritage of sunken stone cottages in Berrima.
Weekends draw tourists along its Georgian catwalks
parading their keepsakes and trinkets.
Historic iron roofs abruptly tilt corrugated lips dipping their rusty hats.
Architectural hedges sweep the granite drives.
Out of town on a parched pastel paddock stands a sun soaked bull,
courting his gallery cleaved by the barbed wire fence,
his guttural luring cry, carries jurisdiction across the open acre property.
Yellow slabs of sunlight slide like mirrors beneath the canopies of
eucalypts, scribbly bark and pine.
The smell of gloating grapes, a palette of cabernet, chardonnay and merlot,
crowd the trellised pastures.
Flanked by forest, in a cedar clad cottage masquerading as a rare book store,
we drink coffee reading Lowell, Hughes and Frost.
Until the night sky opened, peppered with stars and clean as a digital image.

 
33 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2012 in Poetry

 

33 responses to ““Southern Highlands” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. dfb

    April 22, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    This is fabulous David, a lovely atmospheric read full of detail and fine references.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 22, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Thank you David, I cherish your comments
      David. L

       
  2. flowerpoet

    April 23, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Your vivid poetry-prose imagery makes me feel as if I’m there. Thanks for the instant holiday! This ‘Southern Highlands’ should be in a tourism brochure too. It’s so inviting to see. Shelley

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 23, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      Thanks Shelly, It is a special place, I was visiting a couple of years ago with my wife on the triumph motor bike and bumped into my cousin, whom I hadn’t
      seen in 30 years, we were just about to leave, and he recognised me, we were very close as kids so I was stoked. So we go down now and then to visit.
      David. L

       
  3. Cara Olsen

    April 23, 2012 at 3:25 am

    David, this is lovely writing.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 23, 2012 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to visit.
      David. L

       
  4. Ayasonice

    April 23, 2012 at 8:47 am

    Great picture you’ve painted of that town, David. I could see myself walking down the catwalks with the tourists πŸ™‚ I also want you to know that I added you to my list of favourite bloggers and now nominate you for the 7×7 and Beautiful Blogger Awards. You can view here:

    http://supersoniceuphony.wordpress.com/awards/

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 23, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      Thank you so much, its a lovely gesture.
      David. L

       
  5. Sharmishtha Basu

    April 24, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    What a poem! I felt i was standing there, feeling the place myself. fabulous word imagery.

     
  6. Dennis N. O'Brien

    April 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Beautifully written David – so well observed and described, a pleasure to read.

     
  7. Obscured Dreamer

    April 25, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I’m ready with coffee in hand to settle in with Frost and Lowell, with a side of Hughes. It would be so lovely to happen upon a bookstore as you described with such a lushness of a setting. Beautiful work in words.

    Also, I nominated you for the Reader Appreation Award. More information on it here –> http://obscureddreamer.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/a-time-for-thankfulness/

    C.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 25, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Thanks for visiting, I am glad you enjoyed it! The book store we stumbled across was full of poetry it was like a kid in a candy store. πŸ™‚
      David. L

       
  8. Poetry & Icecream

    April 25, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    This is beautifully written David. It’s full of imagery and it’s refreshing and unique. I love these lines “Historic iron roofs abruptly tilt corrugated lips dipping their rusty hats” and “peppered with stars and clean as a digital image”. I like the references to the olfactory senses (eucalyptus, coffee, wine). Well done! πŸ™‚

     
  9. midnighthues

    April 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Thank you for visiting my blog.
    Wow I feel I am there and experiencing the place… vivid imagery! Great work!
    ~ Aparna

     
  10. Casey B

    April 28, 2012 at 4:03 am

    Thank you for this and the other excellent poems you have contributed to the hobbyist canon. I always enjoy your work, even if I don’t comment that frequently.

    I’ve given you a blog award: http://navigatingcyberloss.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Best wishes,

    Casey

     
  11. bardessdmdenton

    April 28, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Hi David! Thanks for choosing to follow my blog!

    This poem takes me somewhere I’ve never been…and makes it such a familiar place. Love your descriptive use of words! I will be back.

     
  12. Obscured Dreamer

    May 1, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Again I am back to let you know that I nominated you/your blog for the Liebster Blog Award. All the details can be found here –> http://obscureddreamer.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/great-start-to-the-week-liebster-award/

    Hope this is the beginning of an awesome week for you! πŸ™‚

    C.

     
  13. Astha-The Frozen Vividity

    May 9, 2012 at 5:59 am

    I just love it the way you portray the whole big story or a picture in the-most-descriptive-less-words possible!
    Love your work!

    *Cheers*

    -Astha

     
  14. Astha-The Frozen Vividity

    May 9, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Hello David,
    Congratulations!! I have Nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!!
    http://asthafrozenviv.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/versatile-blogger-award-_/
    I am so glad to have you nominated for this ^_^

    *Cheers*

    -Astha

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      May 10, 2012 at 9:09 pm

      Thanks Astha, but can I say I am just terrible at utilising such awards, I can barely run a blog!
      however I will continue to enjoy following your blog and hope you follow mine, I have not posted any thing for a few weeks as I am so busy
      landscaping and always so tired, but I am working on a poem about the Anzacs, hopefully it will be finished soon.
      Cheers,
      David. L

       
      • Astha-The Frozen Vividity

        May 11, 2012 at 4:41 am

        Let’s put it this way, Awards are just a way of appreciating what you write! πŸ˜‰
        And you are not lacking in managing your blog in anyway, because even one post is worth it…
        But, with all due respect, I enjoy what you write…
        Awaiting your next post πŸ˜‰

        *Cheers*

        -Astha

         
      • davidlandgrebe

        May 11, 2012 at 9:46 pm

        πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

         
  15. vinishka

    June 2, 2012 at 1:57 am

    Beautifully written! I enjoyed this πŸ™‚

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      June 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm

      Thanks Vinishka for visiting and commenting. πŸ™‚

       
  16. home, garden, life

    June 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Hello David-Thank you for dropping by my blog. I look forward to clicking around yours this weekend and beyond. On first read, I like very much. Diane
    Continue visiting my blog/world and look at older posts for gobs of photos and thoughts.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      June 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

      Looking forward to more reading, I have been procrastinating with my writing though.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
