RSS

“Yesterday” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

22 Jul

Crosshatched fingers, carved from slabs of winters dirt
Scratch the hidden clearing beneath my woolen beanie.
Cannibalized perennials surround me, licked to the bone by rude city winds
This garden has procrastinated into a coffin of sticks and dry mud.
And the long drooling stare of the dumb dog fixes his snipers nose to my tuna.
To get a coffee these days is an excuse to visit 2nd hand bookstores and rescue old poets from decomposition, and surround myself with training wheels of wisdom.
Things I once owned as a kid look antique to me now I’m fifty.
The young are buying up old vinyl records, like it’s the end of the financial year
Shiny crow black discs in heavy metal jackets.
Rewind the smoky side streets and alleyways of yesterday
Now plumb straight up and clad in glass dress.
The sun makes me squint like a smoker
The same sun I wore scratching my feet on the front lawn at seven
Rolling around like a starfish on Sundays feeling like heaven.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to ““Yesterday” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. Lamberta

    August 4, 2012 at 1:27 am

    very good poem. Never gets old thinking of the past.

     
  2. Dennis N. O'Brien

    August 10, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Very descriptive David, some great lines in there.
    Cheers
    Dennis

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      August 11, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      Thanks Dennis, I appreciate your comments.
      David. L

       
  3. Deborah

    October 24, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Cute :))) pleasant reading … xc

     
  4. J.H. White

    February 14, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    we are age pioneers…a considerable mix with chaos and responsibility. What else is there to do?

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      February 14, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      We can only find the point where it balances best!

       
  5. flowerpoet

    May 20, 2014 at 1:48 am

    How our perceptions and perspectives change with the years!! It is always an adventure following your paths of thought David. I consider you to be one of our great modern poets. Thanks for creating and sharing your art.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      May 20, 2014 at 5:37 pm

      Why thank you for your gracious comment, I have not been overly active with the pen lately, as my landscape design company keeps me so busy, however you have sparked the impetus required for me to get busily writing. πŸ™‚ and by the way! although haven’t commented lately, I have noticed your work has been flowering!! pardon the pun!! πŸ™‚
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
