RSS

“Fourteen Lines” I Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

12 Aug

My sofa is a book-yard,
A silent crash;
Anorexic pages thickened with irony,
A poet’s graveyard in my living room,
Dulled jackets half open half eaten,
Dog-eared archetypes.
You compliment our 21st century sofa,
Upholstered in rust less syntax,
You close my olive eyes with pictures,
Like memories in a black and white photograph,
My warless life does not prevent me from hearing your voice,
Here I will thaw in winter’s sun, and listen to your stories,
Share a violin concerto, from my polycarbonate collection,
And research your history, your friends and family from my apple mac.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to ““Fourteen Lines” I Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. boomiebol

    August 12, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Vivid imagery here…very nice

     
  2. midnighthues

    August 13, 2012 at 1:43 am

    Like the metaphor thawing in winter’s sun… lovely!

     
  3. bardessdmdenton

    August 16, 2012 at 3:21 am

    Love the imagery, David–the opening is wonderful and drew me right in.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      August 16, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks Diane, I am glad you enjoyed it! 🙂
      David. L

       
  4. Dennis N. O'Brien

    September 16, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Your living room sounds like an interesting place David.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 16, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      Always something going on, thank you Dennis!
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
