RSS

“Peace and Productivity” I Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

16 Sep

The dog dribbles her yellow
Bouncing ball near the fridge full of plastic packaging
Destined for the digestive tracts of marine life,
Her naked brain plays like a child
Innocent and void of narcissism, separatism, racism,
Religiosity and a hand full of other human frailties
Its Friday night and we normally let the kitchen relax
And order takeaway anyway.
The kids have evaporated into the dark room
Of virtual civilization and Skype tripe,
And the dinning table continues to push up last week’s chrysanthemums
A reminder to my wife I deserve the last of the chocolate muffins
She baked for the kids.
I might go shoot the television in the living room with the remote
And see what happens,
Maybe its time for the news, maybe they will announce the war is over
Maybe they will tell us bankers have found the money they stole
And we can all just focus on peace and productivity.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to ““Peace and Productivity” I Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. boomiebol

    September 16, 2012 at 11:38 am

    I love every line and word in this poem…and when i read the last 3 or so lines, my response was Amen lol. Very well written, and so relatable.

    Thanks for sharing! Sharing this on twitter, thank you!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 16, 2012 at 11:46 am

      Thank you so much for kind response, I am glad you enjoyed.
      David. L

       
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 16, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Ps Your more than welcome to share it on twitter as long as you credit my name. Thank you. πŸ™‚

       
      • boomiebol

        September 16, 2012 at 11:54 am

        Oh absoultely…i clicked via the twitter button on your page, so it links it directly back to your blog πŸ™‚

         
  2. My Mia's Art

    September 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Wonderful imagery…I could just be there, in your home on a Friday night. Thank you.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks Mia, its a pleasure to have you over! πŸ™‚
      David. L

       
  3. Deborah

    September 16, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    Peace and productivity ! Now that sounds like a plan πŸ™‚ I like !!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 16, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      Thank you sister, I am glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

       
  4. hollyannegetspoetic

    September 17, 2012 at 4:44 am

    Nice poem. I like the small domestic details of family life at the end of a long week – they seem to frame the wider concepts of the poem.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      September 17, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks Hollyanne, Its good to hear from you again, I hope all is good with you and your family:)
      David. L

       
  5. jademovies

    October 7, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Reblogged this on Script Market.

     
  6. bardessdmdenton

    October 19, 2012 at 5:38 am

    Great message, and wonderful use of words, phrases, so many excellent ones like ‘Its Friday night and we normally let the kitchen relax’

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      October 19, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      Thank you Diane I appreciate your comments highly.
      David. L

       
  7. Deborah

    October 24, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    Hi David πŸ™‚ wow ! Great poetry, love it !!!

     
  8. mj

    April 14, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    Many thanks for visiting my blog, reading my poem, and the follow. I love your words here and this poem especially, I like. ‘Skype tripe’ and shooting the television is how we all do it, but you have found the words to say it. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you stopped by, gave me a chance to discover a great Sydney poet!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Many thanks, so glad to have come across your work also, looking forward to more. πŸ™‚
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
