RSS

“In this dream” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

14 Oct

In this dream
I still remember the ribs of light pouring in from above, illuminating the jellyfish through muddy brine, like the silhouette of the dandelion seed.
There is a twisted old wooden jetty standing giraffe deep in a lake
Bleaching to grandparent grey in the sun.
I am six years old and in this dream, my father has just finished tying a granny knot around my waist from the thickest rope he could find
Then swings me like a cast iron crab trap in towards the center
I thought he was showing me some kind of new fishing technique or something
He never was good at explaining himself
And I wasn’t much better at asking questions either.
Besides the shock of cold water, I noticed a severe lack of gravity
And that I was suspended from an umbilical cord made from hemp
And my ears were filled with a plague of crickets
The primordial instinct oscillated my tiny wings like a bird to the surface
My father since told me not long ago that this was no dream
Apparently we were holidaying at relatives
And thought fast tracking my swimming lessons was a good idea at the time.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2012 in Poetry

 

16 responses to ““In this dream” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. Dennis N. O'Brien

    October 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    I was taught to swim in a similar way – luckily I managed to cut my way out of the bag – well written.

     
  2. Deborah

    October 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    OMG great poem 😛 I remember that trip ohh so well o_O I was not long ago sharing that story with a friend ! classic & typical life lesson from father 🙂 love this one David for obvious reasons xcxcx

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      October 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Thanks Sis, I am glad you enjoyed it:)
      David. L

       
  3. Charron's Chatter

    October 21, 2012 at 5:37 am

    Your word choice is astounding–and illuminating. I admire your work. Also, do all parents “fast track” the swimming lessons? Because I remember a long pier, and arms to catch me–that didn’t. Hmmm…

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      October 21, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Oh dear not so good,the intentions were there.
      Thanks for your wonderful comment Charron

       
    • davidlandgrebe

      December 29, 2012 at 7:34 pm

      Thanks Lamberta 🙂

       
      • Lamberta

        December 30, 2012 at 10:11 am

        np. 😉

         
  4. e

    December 29, 2012 at 4:57 am

    Brings me back to a cool Summer day, a small pond and my brother struggling next to me as I floated through our first fatherly swimming test… 50 years later and he’s still mad that I float!

    Beautifully penned, poet.
    e

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      December 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Dads certainly have a way, thanks for the comment.
      David. L

       
  5. J.H. White

    February 12, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Wonderful to meet you David. I’m enjoying your visceral way with language..not something I want to hurry through. Oh..and I’d love to see your landscapes with a few years of patina and with the plantings mature. They are as complex but approachable as your poems.
    Cheers!

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      February 12, 2013 at 6:10 pm

      Thanks for your wonderful comment, I’m glad you are enjoying them. As for the landscapes, well it’s a catch, I’m so busy these days, I have found it very difficult for weeks, to find the energy and inclination to write, but I think finally I might have something to finish in the pipeline.
      Cheers,
      David. L

       
  6. flowerpoet

    January 27, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Quite the initiation David! It reminds me of my childhood experience of nearly drowning in the clear shallows of a local lake. I was fascinated by the clarity of the light in water and the beautiful music I heard. Guess I didn’t have a survival instinct. Thanks for sharing your memory. Shelley

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      January 27, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      Thanks Shelley, I think we all have a memory of close calls with water,thankfully you are still here to be sharing beautiful words and thoughts, and thank you for showing interest in mine.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
