RSS

“The Kitchen Window” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

31 Mar

I can see a short grey couple
Diagonally two doors over,
From our bathroom,
Invisibly joined at the hip.

Just like my late grandparents
Karl and Marie, washing dishes
Together in the kitchen window,
Their gaze could stop a clock,
And take you back in time.

I last thought of them before
The mirror folded lines in my face,
And before I noticed
The top of my hair missing
In a surveillance camera at Woolies.

I remember the model boats
Karl cut out of wood in his workshop
With several thousandth’s
Of an inch between pointer and thumb,
And my grandmothers slow pots
Percolating with pickled beef, sauerkraut
And hand rolled potato dumplings.

I wonder if they missed my teenage years?
When I dropped them during the seventies
Post the bunny and Santa show,
I wish I could reach out into the rushing rain
And touch the kitchen window.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2013 in Poetry

 

10 responses to ““The Kitchen Window” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. Deb

    March 31, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    Enjoyed this.

     
  2. Deborah

    April 1, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    Oh thats gorgeous 🙂 it makes me miss them.
    Oma and Opa ! Love them x

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      April 1, 2013 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks Deb i’m glad you enjoyed it.
      David. L

       
  3. Anne

    April 1, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Echoes in time–lovely. 🙂

     
  4. Dennis N. O'Brien

    May 20, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    You write very well David – I’ve been looking at your art and also your Landscaping website – very impressive indeed.

     
  5. flowerpoet

    June 1, 2013 at 2:38 am

    Thanks for leading us across your poetic time bridge of memory David. Your genius is in making the ordinary extraordinarily meaningful. Your poem also helped me reconnect with some similar precious memories.

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      June 1, 2013 at 9:50 pm

      Thanks for such a wonderful compliment, I am so glad you got something out of it.
      “After all is done, all we have are memories”.
      David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
