RSS

“A Sunday full of couch” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

25 Nov

My backside is numb like a drunken teenager, it’s been
Hard pressed against a Sunday full of couch, I’ve pulled
The pin on the promise I made about a day outside in spite
Of the seamless sun drenched skies, and the sound of a
Intermittent bird song delivered to me by a sympathetic
Summer breeze, I decided to remain welded there between
Cheeks and couch, and do bugger all but enjoy the company
Of a good book, a smidgen of Shiraz, and the little wet snout
Of my canine friend nudged resolute beneath my elbow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to ““A Sunday full of couch” | Sydney Poet David Landgrebe

  1. home, garden, life

    November 26, 2013 at 1:47 am

    Good to hear from you again David. With temps in the teens here yesterday (Sunday), yet sunny, I could have ventured out, yet puttered and napped indoors all day…except to go out to fill the wild bird feeders! Cheers!
    Stop by and visit my posts! Diane

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      November 26, 2013 at 9:06 pm

      Thanks Diane. It’s good to be putting words down again.
      David. L

       
  2. flowerpoet

    December 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Well, I can certainly relate to your poem David. Welcome back to this realm of words. You are so adept at conjuring images and feelings. Many thanks. Shelley

     
    • davidlandgrebe

      December 27, 2013 at 1:45 pm

      Thanks very much Shelley, It has been a while since I last submitted a poem, but not for lack of desire, but the lack of impetus!
      and with encouragement like yours, I should put pen to paper.
      Many thanks. David. L

       

Leave a Reply

 
